VMworld 2016 – VIVA Las VVols

25Jul16

vmworld2016

I can’t even believe it is already time again for VMworld. As always I can’t wait for it to be here (and I can’t wait for it to be over)  On one hand, its the largest opportunity to unite with my fellow IT brethren and sistren from all over the world yet on the other hand it also mean I need to spend months preparing speaking sessions and demos to share.  Now as we near the 30 day countdown and shift into high gear preparation mode I thought I would share a few thoughts about this year’s events.

Best VMworld Ever

Last year I said it was the Best VMworld Ever.  No I don’t intend to say that every year, but I truly believe this is going to be MY best VMworld ever.  If for no other reason, the fact that it will be my first ever VMworld as a VMware employee.  Sure that comes with a whole lot more work, but that’s OK.  I love my job, and am proud to represent the Storage and Availability Unit this year.

VIVA Las VVols Sessions

This year there are a ton of different VVol sessions at VMworld to choose from, and in case you’re wondering why that is, it’s because this is the YEAR of VVols! 🙂  Below are several VVols sessions that I am either presenting or attending this year. I hope to see you there.

STO7645 – 8/29/16 (Monday) 11:00 AM
Virtual Volumes Technical Deep Dive

This is going to be my favorite session, because I get to co-present with the manager of the VVol development team, Patrick Dirks.  If you don’t know Patrick let me tell you, there isn’t a person on this planet that knows more about VVols, but more than that he an awesome teacher.  IMHO this is a must attend session for anyone interested in VVols.

STO8619 – 8/31/16 (Wednesday) 4:00 PM
Transitioning to VVols: Partner Panel

This is going to be a really interesting session because of all the different storage vendors that will be participating and sharing their views on the VVol transition.  The fun part about panel sessions is you, the audience member drive the discussion topics. I love having a free flowing conversation with subject matter experts for all the key storage vendors talking about this hot topic.  Another must attend IMHO.

STO8159 -8/31/16 (Wednesday) 11:30 AM
Snapshots Suck: How VSAN and VVol fix all your operational nightmares

I’m not sure how we got this controversial title approved but hey lets do this. If you’ve ever listened to the vSpeakingPodcast with John and I than this title makes more sense.  Either way if you’ve been in the industry for any amount of time you’ve probably experienced the pains of VMFS snapshots, whether its having too many which kills your IO or just waiting hours to delete them.  The good news is both VSAN and VVols bring significant  performance gains in this area and John and I are going to break it down.

STO8144 – 8/30/16 (Tuesday) 3:30 PM
Virtual Volumes in a NetApp Environment

Regardless of what storage you use this will be an informative session on VVols. We will be discussing what VVol looks like on all storage platforms and sharing what both ONTAP and Element OS users can expect with their VAS Providers.

STO8159 – 8/30/16 (Tuesday) 12:30 PM
Deploy Scalable Private Cloud with vSphere Virtual Volumes

This session is a technical deep-dive on how using VVols with Hitachi Storage systems will solve common challenges in managing VMs, streamline the storage operations with policy-based management and improve efficiency of VM operations.

STO8422 – Thursday, Sep 01, 12:00 p.m. – 1:00 p.m.
Virtual Volumes: Why?

In this session Ben Meadowcroft and Rajib Ghosh look at the VVol framework and how EMC is using this to deliver a new generation of VM-aware storage that puts the VMs in charge. You will learn about this revolutionary change in the way storage is delivered to VMware environments, and why this industry-wide initiative will provide you with a new, efficient and intelligent ways to use storage arrays.

vSpeakingPodcast – Road Show

vsp (1) copy

If you are a listener of the vSpeakingPodcast you might be interested to know that John and I will be recording content for a special VMworld episode.  Come find us and say hi.  We would love to interview you or at least hook you up with some swag.

See you there

Alright time to get back to work on my sessions. I hope to see you in Vegas in a few short weeks because it will be the best VMworld Ever 🙂 Bye for now..

 

No Responses Yet to “VMworld 2016 – VIVA Las VVols”

  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

